Letters to Matilda Mae

Posted on February 2, 2014

0


Dear Tilda.

I have been trying all week to think of how I was going to write this letter and I almost gave up. I just can’t seem to find the words for what i would like to say, to let you know just how much you have given me, how special you are and how amazing your mum is.

I remember the day as if it was yesterday. I was in hospital with Hugo, He was recovering from septicemia, we didn’t know the long-term effect of his illness and I was feeling low.  You could say feeling sorry for myself.

It was at this moment I heard, it sounds strange but at that moment my world changed, I cried and looked at Hugo and realised just how lucky I was, he was here and no matter what problems he would have through his life I would make sure he enjoyed every minute of it.

I spoke to your mum later in the week to send her all my love, to let her know I was thinking of her.

I had met your mum a year before when we had been doing some work together for the Bliss charity. She told me all about you and the twins and is so so proud of you all.

I am proud to have you in my life, you have made myself and many others a better person. You made me look at myself and think. You made me hold my boys extra tight. You have made me laugh,smile and cry, a truly amazing little lady.

We have blown bubbles to you, sang lullaby’s to you in the bath, Wanged wellies, we even got celebrities to sign wellies in your honour!

Your short life has impacted so many others Matilda Mae, you are always in our hearts and we will continue to support your mum in building your legacy with the Lullaby Trust whenever we can.

Sleep tight little angel

See you tonight, shining high in the sky xx

 

 

 

Posted in: My life