Memories

Posted on April 16, 2013

1


So today we said good bye to my Gran.

We gave her a lovely send off, all the family traveled from around the country to be together and share in the celebration of her life.

During the service I remembered my old Gran, not the one in the nursing home, but the one who brought a smile to my face so many times throughout my childhood.

The Gran who looked after me when I was ill.

The Gran who made rice crispie buns with me.

The Gran who made the most amazing egg custard.

The Gran who almost rubbed my skin off when drying after a bath.

The Gran who rode my mountain bike down the rode, in her 60’s!, just to see if she could do it.

The Gran who was so devoted to my Grandad, even 20 years after he passed away.

The Gran who ALWAYS brought me a toblerone back from holiday.

The days we spent playing scrabble, monopoly and snakes and ladders.

The electric blankets always on to air the beds.

The “walks” up the garden – she was so very proud of her garden.

The way her face lit up when she saw my boys.

Thank you Gran, your taught me so much about life and gave me such happy memories that have made me into the person I am today – now go enjoy being with Grandad again.

granGran and Nate

Posted in: My life